List of Federal (Public) Universities In Nigeria

Hello, aspiring undergraduate. Have you ever wondered how many Federal Universities there are in Nigeria? Many students and parents want to know about their options, and this page lists all the federally owned universities.

Federal universities, also known as Public universities, are respected schools known for providing good education and research and helping the country grow. This list is helpful for anyone thinking about furthering his/her Tertiary education in Nigeria.

Listed in the table below, you will find all the Public universities owned by the Federal Government of Nigeria along with their year of establishment.

Federal Universities In Nigeria

S/NFederal UniversitiesYear Est.
1Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi1988
2Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria1962
3Bayero University, Kano1975
4Federal University Gashua, Yobe2013
5Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun2007
6Federal University of Technology, Akure1981
7Federal University of Technology, Minna1982
8Federal University of Technology, Owerri1980
9Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State2011
10Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina2011
11Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State2011
12Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State2011
13Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State2011
14Federal University, Ndifu-Alike, Ebonyi State2011
15Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa2011
16Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State2011
17Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State2011
18Federal University, Birnin Kebbi2013
19Federal University, Gusau Zamfara2013
20Michael Okpara University of Agricultural Umudike1992
21Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola1981
22National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos2002
23Nigeria Police Academy Wudil2013
24Nigerian Defence Academy Kaduna1985
25Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka1992
26Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife1962
27University of Abuja, Gwagwalada1988
28Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta1988
29University of Agriculture, Makurdi1988
30University of Benin1970
31University of Calabar1975
32University of Ibadan1948
33University of Ilorin1975
34University of Jos1975
35University of Lagos1962
36University of Maiduguri1975
37University of Nigeria, Nsukka1960
38University of Port-Harcourt1975
39University of Uyo1991
40Usumanu Danfodiyo University1975
41Nigerian Maritime University Okerenkoko, Delta State2018
42Air Force Institute of Technology, Kaduna2018
43Nigerian Army University Biu2018
44University of Health Technology, Otukpo Benue State2020
45Federal University of Agriculture, Zuru, Kebbi State2020
46Federal University of Technology, Babura, Jigawa State2021
47Federal University of Technology, Ikot Abasi, Akwa Ibom State2021
48Federal University of Health Sciences, Azare, Bauchi State2021
49Federal University of Health Sciences, Ila Orangun, Osun State2021
50David Nweze Umahi Federal University of Medical Sciences, Uburu, Ebonyi State2022
51Admiralty University Ibusa, Delta State2023
52Federal University of Transportation Daura, Katsina2023

📡Follow Us On Our Social Media Channels Below:

Telegram JOIN NOW

Leave a Comment